� [history]� [profile]� [leave note]� [get font]� [diaryland]


REVELATIONS FROM THE CRYPT

Lovecraft -- Scarecraft

2003-05-01, 2:10 a.m.

After many years, I started re-reading H.P. Lovecraft's works (along with his literary progenies) and I got to thinking about the nature of horror and what scares us.

For centuries the Devil and Demons scared people into living right. Next fear of witches. Then fear of monsters in the 30s/40s with Frankenstein, Dracula, etc. Next, critters from outer space in the 50s/60s. Then we were back to the Devil in the 60s/70s (Exorcist, Omen). Then it wasnt a creature or manifestation, but just scare the hell outta ya (Alien, Freddy Kruger, Halloween). By the 90s it was all about gore... and it became more of a joke than a serious scare (Scream).

So what scares people now? Can I find it? Can I write it?

--Grue

<< prev

<< engrave epitaph >> | << email me >>

next >>

�
Original Content Copyright
(c) 2003 by Simon la Grue