� [history]� [profile]� [leave note]� [get font]� [diaryland]


REVELATIONS FROM THE CRYPT

For the Love of God

2003-05-05, 8:19 p.m.

I popped in Steve Vai's Passion and Warfare today for the first time in a while, after finding a stray Guitar One issue with a transcription for one of my favorite songs of all time -- Track #7: For The Love of God. I've loved this song for many many years and I was again immersed into the depth of emotion that this song portrays.

Even more fascinating was what G1 had to say about it: "For the Love of God was the last track recorded for Passion and Warfare. In fact, the song was recorded after Vai had finished mixing all the other tracks on the album -- he hadnt touched a guitar in nearly two months! To make matters even more intense, Vai had three days to pull it off, the first of which was spent trying to get his chops back up to snuff. In preparation for the recording, Vai fasted for four days, drinking only water and juice. When he was primed and ready, Steve Vai turned all the lights out in his studio and did it in one take."

I was lucky to be able to see Steve Vai live in a little theatre in Peoria, IL a few years back. I was able to be right in front of him, with my jaw hitting the floor most of the show. But this song... when he played it and actually made eye contact for a second... was overwealming and I had some tears standing in my eyes during the whole song.

I've tried learning this song over the years, but the advanced parts have not yielded to my dedication or patience, or to be more precise, my dedication and patience has not been up to snuff for this song.

If you ever have a chance to hear this song... do.

--Grue

<< prev

<< engrave epitaph >> | << email me >>

next >>

�
Original Content Copyright
(c) 2003 by Simon la Grue