� [history]� [profile]� [leave note]� [get font]� [diaryland]


REVELATIONS FROM THE CRYPT

I'm Right, You're Not

2003-05-06, 4:57 p.m.

I don't get some Chrisians. Especially some Christian Women. I don't get the "We are the ONLY Way" thing. Its amazing to see them fool themselves and lie to themselves about their belief that they are the only way and not wanting to evangelicize. God and Jesus can only do so much for you in *this* physical world.

Below I have shared a conversation with a woman who contacted me because of a personal ad and was interested in finding out more. I think I'm the one who came away finding out the most.

[HER]: i have a geocities webpage lol

[HER]: but i don't know if you'd like it that much

[ME]: Why's that???

[HER]: as you are agnostic or other right?

[ME]: Other.

[HER]: it is kinda Christian-leaning

[ME]: I am definitely not agnostic.

[HER]: what is "other"?

[ME]: Umm... not listed above, heh.

[HER]: buddhist?

[HER]: wiccan?

[ME]: Nope.

[HER]: druid?

[ME]: I dont follow a specific following.

[HER]: i see lol

[ME]: But I definitely have spiritual beliefs.

[HER]: sorry, not laughing at you. two margaritas and everything is funny to me

[At this point, opening up her page, I saw that it was a discourse on the Christian guy she wanted to have in her life... not that he had to go to church or be a saint, just that he accepts Jesus as his Saviour and live a good life.]

[ME]: No, its okay.

[ME]: I couldnt really explain it anyway.

[HER]: no not at all

[HER]: i am pretty openminded

[HER]: to each their own

[ME]: Its kinda a "this is the best guess I can come up with so far"

[ME]: Dont be so quick to judge

[HER]: me? judge??!?! as IF lol

[ME]: Hmmm... I didnt mean it like that.

[ME]: Just cuz I might not technically be Christian doesnt mean I cant appreciate your page... that was all I meant.

[HER]: ahhhh, i see

[Of course, at this point she WAS judging as we shall soon see... skipping ahead...]

[HER]: so u like Christian and Gospel music?

[ME]: Depends on the Genre on the Christian.

[ME]: And some Gospel is okay.

[ME]: But I dont listen to it too much.

[HER]: Have u ever heard of Newcomers Home

[ME]: Nope.

[HER]: do u like contemporary Christian

[ME]: No, not really.

[HER]: like more of the rock/alternative Christian type of music?

[ME]: I need to be straight up. I'm not Christian and I dont really have many Christian aspects in my life. And it doesnt bother me that other people do.

[HER]: straight up lol

[HER]: so what are your religious beliefs?

[ME]: I believe in a God but as a very very complex concept.

[ME]: I believe that there are lots of "right" answers out there.

[ME]: And that religion is a personal process.

[ME]: Its hard to describe really.

[ME]: I am a gnostic.

[ME]: I believe that the spiritual can manifest in the physical.

[HER]: hmmmm ok

[ME]: I just want you to know that. I respect very much that your beliefs are a huge part of your life and you are looking for someone who can share those beliefs with you.

[ME]: And in that regard, I could not be that person in terms of sharing those beliefs.

[HER]: ok

[ME]: From my end, it wouldnt bother me.

[HER]: good 2 b honest

[ME]: But if its important to you, I dont want to waste your time.

[ME]: If you're looking for a Christian guy, that's something I will never be.

[HER]: it is important. but most people's beliefs change over time. while i would not try to actively convert you, whose to say you would not become a Christian on your own?

[ME]: That is a very complex question, but I am pretty confident that I never would.

[ME]: I guess the same could be turned over to you, do you think that you could be a non-christian in the future?

[HER]: who knows.

[HER]: but i doubt it

[ME]: Exactly.

[ME]: And I share that same feeling.

[HER]: lol

[ME]: Obviously for different reasons.

[HER]: getting sleeeppy

[She doesn't even realize that she is judging, minimizing others' beliefs, and hoping for a conversion of my heathenness. Realizing that wont happen, its bed time for her. Conversation over. He's not *THE ONE*.]

"What did I really think fifteen years ago? A nonbeliever, I felt guilty in the midst of all those believers. And since it seemed to me that they were in the right, I decided to believe, as you might decide to take aspirin: It can't hurt and you might get better."
-- Umberto Eco's Foucault's Pendulum

--Grue

<< prev

<< engrave epitaph >> | << email me >>

next >>

�
Original Content Copyright
(c) 2003 by Simon la Grue