� [history]� [profile]� [leave note]� [get font]� [diaryland]


REVELATIONS FROM THE CRYPT

Reunion

2003-09-10, 3:34 a.m.

Tonight I drove into the city to see Mudvayne play. I dont know if I have written about them before... they are a quite popular Nu-metal group from Peoria, IL... my old stomping grounds. In fact, I have known their drummer for many years. I did their website for over a year before Epic (Sony) took it over (damn those big corporations), did some of the graphics used on their LD50 CD and I'm listed in the inner sleeve of their CD. I took lessons for a while from their Guitarist and hell, spent a lot of time with them and became friends with them.

So I hadnt seen them for a couple of years now with my startup company disaster in Cincinnati and with them touring the world and elsewhere, as Spinal Tap would say. They just got off of touring with Metallica and are headlining their own tour before they head back into the studio for album #3.

The show was fantastic. Fingertight, V-Shape Mind, and Powerman 5000 were fantastic but Mudvayne really stole the show. I got close to the stage and got the crap beat out of me with all the moshing. Ahh, I felt like I was 25 again, not 35!

I must radiate some sense of security because throughout all the shows, many women would come and hang out by me (down hormones, down! they're almost half your age!) and I did my best to shield them from the raving moshers. One fortunate woman even fell into my arms as she was crowd surfing. I litterally caught her and gently let her down... if not for me she would have hit the floor :-( I didnt even get a little peck on the cheek for a thanks :-(

The highlight of the whole evening was going into the side bar area and sitting with the band and catching up on a couple of years of news. They were freaked that I was there, hahaha. I seem to do that quite often... appearing at one of their shows unexpected... I guess I'm like Gandalf.

Its good to get back together with everyone and I'm glad to see that with all of their success they are unchanged (for the worse).

--Grue

<< prev

<< engrave epitaph >> | << email me >>

next >>

�
Original Content Copyright
(c) 2003 by Simon la Grue