� [history]� [profile]� [leave note]� [get font]� [diaryland]


REVELATIONS FROM THE CRYPT

Innocence and Love

2003-05-08, 12:13 a.m.

My recently-turned-four year old nephew, Levi, walks up to me at the computer wanting to play. "Uncle Rick, lets DO something."

"Okay," I reply, "what would you like to do?"

"Lets play golf... who are THEY?" he asks, pointing to an email popped up on screen showing my latest matches from American Singles.

"Uhh," I stammer, thinking quickly, "they are women I am looking at who might be a good woman to be with. You know, like Daddy has Mommy."

"Oh," he says, "I dont like them."

"You dont?" I reply, "Not even this one?"

"No. Uncle Rick, you dont need a woman."

"I dont? Why? Daddy has Mommy and I dont have anyone."

Levi leans his head against me and tells me reassuringly, "You have me!"

This of course brings a little tear to the eye and I give him a big hug. When relating it to his Mom later, he's sitting there close by smiling. She asks him about it (sometimes Levi has extra insight). She asks him, "You have Uncle Timmy and Aunt Angie, so for Uncle Rick its Uncle Rick and Aunt..."

"Levi!" he proclaims!

Its just so cute... you know, Love can be that simple, if we just let it and stop complicating it with all the societal bullshit.

--Grue

<< prev

<< engrave epitaph >> | << email me >>

next >>

�
Original Content Copyright
(c) 2003 by Simon la Grue