� [history]� [profile]� [leave note]� [get font]� [diaryland]


REVELATIONS FROM THE CRYPT

In the Chapel

2003-05-24, 1:43 a.m.

Today I took a few tentative steps into the darkness, and the doors shut behind me. No, they dont lock, they will open at the slightest hint of cowardness... the slightest inclination to take an easier road.

I moved forward, with no memory of this place... it has been that long. I find myself standing on a checkered floor, a minute layer of cobweb droppings and dust, sprinkled evenly. Black and white tiles sprawl across this square room, with a very faint blue flame on a raised stone dias in the middle.

As my eyes become adjusted to this dull light, I notice that four hallways extend into the cardinal directions. I stop as my eyes meet the hall to the east. A coldness encapsulates me, as I realize I have been this way before... and the last time, I turned and fled.

This time there is no indecision. No nights of dread. No begging for a swift end to a miserable situation. No, its a new me. Confident steps take me down that hallway to an alcove with a cracked glass mirror. A stilted reflection of myself in one section with the crack distorting the view into my memories in the second section.

I shake my head. This is not the past but the future. I made the phone call to Steve. I talked to him. Faced the past and asked for assistance. He granted my reqest and we talked socially. Then we amiacably said goodbye. The crack in the mirror sealed together giving a full view of myself... my face... now.

That task complete, I trace my footsteps back into the main antechamber, where it seems that the blue flame is now a little brighter and a little higher. Could this be my imagination?

I look around. Three hallways left. Which will I chose next?

--Grue

<< prev

<< engrave epitaph >> | << email me >>

next >>

�
Original Content Copyright
(c) 2003 by Simon la Grue